Most online marketers spend a lot of their time generating traffic to their sites and rightly so, after all it is traffic to your site that drives sales right? Whilst no one can argue that without traffic you won’t have sales, the number of sales you make can be calculated from a very simple formula: Visitors X Conversion Rate = Sales. A conversion rate is the rate at visitors convert to sales (or any other desired action such as newsletter sign-ups, clicking on AdSense banners, buying an affiliate product or filling in a lead generation form). The easiest way to work out your conversion rate is the number of sales (or other measurable actions such as newsletter sign-ups), per 100 visits. So if you make 2 sales (conversions), per 100 visits your conversion rate is 2%.